How to Report Landlord to Housing Authority - HUD Housing Complaints (File Landlord Complaint)

We offer Section 8 Consulting Services by phone for Individuals and Landlords.
1.Book Appointment
4.News & Updates
6.Email Notifications of New YouTube Videos

The warranty of habitability
The warranty of habitability requires landlords to provide a livable rental unit. The specifics vary by state, but generally, landlords must provide heat, drinking water, hot water, plumbing, electricity, smoke detectors, a property free from pest infestation, and a property that meets local building codes. If your rental is not livable, you should first tell your landlord and give them a chance to fix the problem. The landlord usually needs to get this done no longer than 30 days from the request, but this depends on what the problem is.

• How to report landlord to housing authority
• How to report apartment complex to health department
• How to report landlord harassment
• HUD complaint against landlord

Department of Justice
The Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. 3601 et seq., prohibits discrimination by direct providers of housing, such as landlords and real estate companies as well as other entities, such as municipalities, banks or other lending institutions and homeowners insurance companies whose discriminatory practices make housing unavailable to persons because of:

In cases involving discrimination in mortgage loans or home improvement loans, the Department may file suit under both the Fair Housing Act and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act. The Department brings cases where there is evidence of a pattern or practice of discrimination or where a denial of rights to a group of persons raises an issue of general public importance. Where force or threat of force is used to deny or interfere with fair housing rights, the Department of Justice may institute criminal proceedings.

New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Phoenix, Philadelphia, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, San Jose, Austin, Fort Worth and Jacksonville.

• Columbus
• Charlotte
• Indianapolis
• San Francisco
• Seattle
• Denver
• Washington
• Boston
• El Paso
• Nashville
• Detroit

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development -FHEO

Hundreds of landlords have been fined and/or debarred from doing business with the federal government as a result of failing to provide safe and decent housing for the poor, while enriching themselves on taxpayer-funded subsidies.

Tenants have been forced to live in terrible housing, and neighborhoods have suffered from housing eyesores. HUD calls this a double crime: one against both tenants and taxpayers. To report a bad landlord to the Multifamily Housing Complaint Line call toll-free at (800) MULTI-70 (800) 685-8470) / TTY (800) 432-2209.

Overview of FHEO's Complaint and Investigation Process
FHEO begins its complaint investigation process shortly after receiving a complaint. You must file your complaint within one year of the last date of the alleged discrimination under the Fair Housing Act. Other civil rights authorities allow for complaints to be filed after one year for good cause, but FHEO recommends filing as soon as possible.

Las Vegas, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana and Iowa.
• Kansas
• Kentucky
• Louisiana
• Maine
• Maryland
• Massachusetts
• Michigan
• Minnesota
• Mississippi
• Missouri
• Montana
• Nebraska

Depending on the type of complaint you file, FHEO may follow a different investigative process, such as referring the matter to a Fair Housing Assistance Program partner. The processes of HUD's Fair Housing Assistance Program (FHAP) partners may vary by agency.

Report the Landlord to Attorney General Office
Report Landlord to the health department (State
Report Landlord City
Report a landlord to The City
Report a landlord to the city inspector

Seek Legal Aid or Housing Advocate

New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina
• South Dakota
• Tennessee
• Texas
• Utah
• Vermont
• Virginia
• Washington
• West Virginia
• Wisconsin
• Los Angeles
• Chicago
• Houston
• Phoenix

Philadelphia, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, San Jose, Austin, Fort Worth, Jacksonville, Columbus, Charlotte, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Seattleand Denver
• Washington
• Boston
• El Paso
• Nashville
• Detroit
• Las Vegas
• Oklahoma City
• Portland
• Las Vegas
Be the first to comment